New Liability Insurance Limits Required for Nevada Drivers

Nevada drivers are more protected with higher-cost insurance

Car insurance can seem like a wasted expense — until you need it. If you have ever been involved in an auto accident, you feel grateful about the coverage that your (or the at-fault driver’s ) car insurance provides. However, you may wish that it covered more of the costs. Nevada law has recently increased the minimum auto insurance rates. Las Vegas law firm Call Christine has the details on this new law and how it affects you.

As of July 1, 2018, the new insurance rates for Nevada drivers are:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 per accident
  • $20,000 for property damage coverage per accident

This 25/50/20 rate nearly doubles the previous insurance rate for motorists, which at 15/20/10 was among the lowest car insurance minimums in the U.S. According to the Department of Motor Vehicles, 32 percent of Nevada drivers carried the minimum insurance coverage at the old rates and now face increased premiums. The increased rates required as of July 2018 affect up to 650,000 drivers and 736,000 vehicles. There are about 2 million licensed drivers in Nevada.

Drivers caught without insurance or without policies at the new minimum rates face fines, citations, and suspended registration until they purchase adequate coverage.

Auto accidents on Nevada roads and highways

The Nevada Department of Transportation reports that there were 146,749 motor vehicle accidents resulting in 34,174 injuries and 309 fatalities in 2017. Distracted driving, impaired driving, distracted walking, traffic congestion, and drug use are all contributing factors to Nevada’s auto accidents. Many of these are new factors in recent years, and the potential for collisions is higher than ever. Combined with high medical and property damage costs, the old car insurance coverage minimums were no longer sufficient.

What higher car insurance rates mean for Las Vegas drivers

The former minimum insurance coverage would not adequately cover the costs of a collision in which a person was injured. In those accidents, the driver at fault for the crash would be responsible for paying the rest of the costs out-of-pocket. Medical expenses and repairing property damages to two vehicles could be in the tens of thousands and even hundreds of thousands of dollars — nowhere near a minimal insurance payout.

Though these higher premiums seem like an inconvenience for drivers paying the minimum, the new rates offer better protection for those involved in auto accidents in Las Vegas. Having insurance that cover the costs of a collision is essential for everyone’s financial health.

In the event of a motor vehicle accident, Call Christine

Las Vegas personal injury and auto accident law firm Call Christine has experience in representing victims and those accused of causing car accidents, motorcycle accidents, pedestrian accidents and other injury cases. If you are involved in a collision with a motor vehicle, Call Christine at (702) 986-0000 or contact us online to schedule your initial consultation.